About Us

More than 30 years ago, the first high rise condominium, Horizon House, was built by Raymond Lutgert, who bought 760 acres for development on the northern edge of the City of Naples.  This land included what is now the Venetian Village shopping center and the attached villas both north and south, as well as the beachfront property from Horizon House to Le Parc.  Soon after, Gulfside, Surfsedge, Allegro, La Mer, Monaco, and Esplanade were constructed.

During the 1980s the Gulf Shore Condominium Association was formed.  For many years it operated as an informal, loose-knit organization formed to discuss common problems.  In the middle to late 1980s, John Berlin appeared on the scene from Buffalo, New York, and was elected president of the Association, remaining so until 1997.

Past presidents include; Jane Earle (Le Parc), John Berlin, Murray Hendel (Park Plaza), Russ Gowland (Solamar),
F.E. Nortman (Provence), and Bruce Eby (Savoy.)  Our current president, Jim Goetz (Gulfside) took office in
January 2016.

Originally, the Association members were limited to those condominiums bounded by Le Parc on the north and Horizon H.use on the south.  Today, members include both sides of Gulf Shore Boulevard, south to Admiralty Point, and east to Crayton Road.

Over the years the Association has fought to keep the north end of Gulf Shore Boulevard closed and has been successful.  The Association agreed to be annexed into the city because the City Council of Naples promised adequate protection that the county would not offer from the intrusive visitors to the then empty lot on which now stands Naples Cay.

Today the Gulf Shore Association of Condominiums has developed into both a formal and formidable force. GSAC has over 70 members, representing more than 4,400 single-family dwelling units. GSAC works with the City of Naples and others to ensure that Naples’ most exclusive condominiums, located on Naples’ prestigious Gulf Shore Boulevard North and surrounding areas, continue to have a voice in issues affecting our members.